Cooking it up

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

Brand-newbie here looking for some genuine help and advice. I'm after some assistance on a cooker/switch issue.

We had an old dual fuel cooker removed and a gas one installed. The old cooker was wired to the electric spur(?) in the wall behind which ran up to the cooker switch.

The new cooker (ZANUSSI - ZKG5540XFN) albeit gas powered has an electronic timer/clock. The lovely chaps from Currys wouldn't hardwire the cooker into the wall where the old one was wired as the cooker has a fitted plug. They just plugged it into a socket which means the power cord is in the way.

My question is: Am I able to just remove the plug from the cooker and wire it into the wall where the old spur(?) is? This is still connected to the cooker switch on the wall. I want the cooker to be connected to the cooker on/off switch properly.

I have been told I need a 3amp fuse in this spur socket. I don't see why as the cooker has it's own fuse on main the fuse box. The new cooker isnt electric so its really just the electronic timer/oven light etc that is being powered.

I appreciate your kind help.

Thanks
Simon

Sponsored Links
Is the spur a fused connection unit or is a socket?

Is the cooker switch on its own circuit - and what is the size of the cable and the MCB?

If the cooker comes with a sealed plug then you must read the instructions that came with the cooker - if you fail to follow them you may invalidate your warranty.

The wire from the cooker socket to the fcu or socket must match the circuit wire - i.e. 6mm.

Assuming the manufacturer allows you have several options

You can cut the plug and connect the cable to the fcu using a 3amp fuse.

or

You can leave the plug alone except ensuring it has a 3 amp fuse and change the fcu for a socket and plug it in.

The size of the fuse must always be less than the current capacity of the cable - hence the 3amp for the cooker cable itself.