Cracks above landing window

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all , purchased a , 3 bed semi house (built in 1962) which has been flagged up on the RICS level 3 survey with a possibility of no lintels on Windows.
RICS survey also mentioned that " no evidence of significant structural movement was noted to the main building and there is nothing to suggest that foundation are defective or inadequate''

Had a quote from a double glazing company and one of the guys also a builder by trade made some comments which worried me as when assessing the windows , the landing window at the side of the property has a ladder crack going from the top right corner of the window to the end top bricks, very difficult to see on the pictures attached, also partially repointing marks on parts of the wall.

Could this be purely due to having no lintel on, or something worst than that .

Been in touch with a different builder ( not phisically assed just from photos ) and he advised that having the lintel installed windows fitted and touch up the bricks with mortar, use helibars if the cracks reaper in time .

Structural survey also crossed my mind.

Main reason I have took on a 600 pounds RICS survey was to eliminate the possible major issues like movement subsiding etc

What are my options now , could I contact the surveyor for extra details or is it too late ... anyway their liability is next to none as I have read...

Starting to loose sleep and overstress due to the situation...one of my nightmares

IMG_20221116_162401.jpg
img_20221116_162401-jpg.285957

IMG_20221116_162313.jpg

Sponsored Links
You can see the line of the crack and that it's been repointed in the past. And your surveyor would have and should have seen it too.

It does not appear to be a major thing, and is very common in that location.

Yes it may be lintel related or just some common movement of the gable for one of several possible causes, but foundation moment is the least likely.