Cracks in Grout

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, this is my first time posting on here so please bear with me as I don't know much about DIY.

This time last year we had cracks in the grout, so had a tiler come in February to lay new tiles in the bathroom. Under the floor tiles had been hardboard, which has quite a fix of flex, but the tiler said that this would be fine to lay new tiles on.

He used Weber joint pro which is meant to be flexible, but the grout started to crack again within a few months. Funnily enough I'm now unable to contact the tiler. I do have some of the weber joint pro remaining although don't know if its worth using.

My hunch is that there's a problem with the flooring, but due to the cost of getting the bathroom done last time, I'm hoping there might be some way of redoing the grout without having to take up the newly laid floor tiles.

Can anyone tell me whether weber joint pro is a good brand, or whether I should try a different brand. And whether it might be ok to fill in the grout, and what I should use.

Many Thanks for your time,
Jenny

Sponsored Links
I'm no tiler but as I undestand it you need pretty thick ( ideally waterproof) plywood under the tiles no matter how flexible the adhesive is if it is just on hardboard you are on a hiding to nothing.

Have a look at this old thread.

//www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=37375

Thanks for the link to this. I can see that this is what should have been, had the tiler provided proper advice at the time, before the tiles were laid.

However, having spent quite a bit on tiles and having them laid, I'm hoping to find a way of making do with the hardwood flooring. We're planning on putting the house on the market in the next year, so I was hoping that there might be more of a quick fix solution.

In your opinion is there no way of getting the grout to hold with a hardboard floor over the wooden floorboards?

Thanks,
Jenny