Crazing Paint, Sanding, still appearing - what to do next?

R

RattusRat

Hi all, new here. I am slightly confused on whether my painting procedure is good enough.

I am doing some wall painting upstairs, and being pedantic on this stuff, I did some research on how to initiate, given it is my first attempt at painting a full room.

Lowdown:

1. The walls had wallpaper, which was moistened with soapy water, and scraped off entirely with a scraper, until there was nothing left, and just plaster. 80 grit sandpaper was also employed.

2. Washed the walls clean of any dirt, grease etc, with white spirit.

3. The surface was uneven, so I used Polycell Smoothover to provide the smooth finish needed. Any raised areas where the solution was too thick, lumpy etc, was sanded down with 80-120 grit sandpaper until even.

3. I purchased Homebase 'Home of Colour' Dove Grey silk paint (which I deeply regret now), and started on the walls. After two coats, there were still marks and scratches from the filler underneath.

I did not like the silk finish anyway, so I decided to bite the bullet and sand it all off, this time ensuring the surface was super smooth, using 80 grit sandpaper, and removing all the sheen. The walls were now smoother than ever.

4. Consequently, I needed to prepare the surface, and prevent the remnants of the Dove Grey coming through, as well as altering the colour of the new paint.

I used Dulux Brilliant White Matt emulsion, which I thinned for the first coat, and gradually decreased the water to paint ratio by the second. I let the surface dry for 24-36 hours.

5. I now applied Dulux 'Chic Shadow' Matt emulsion. I cut in sufficiently, rolled evenly - the first coat went on fine. I gave each wall the first coat, and then returning to the first wall after completing the first coat to start the second. This was probably about after 1 1/2 hours.