Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, I'm a recently qualified electrician and I've been asked to look at a storage heater that's overheating. Getting too hot to touch apparently. I don't have any experience with storage heaters. Where do I start?
I figure it should have a top limit thermostat. But this document
https://usermanual.wiki/Document/UKSparesBrochure9.1708292019/view
doesn't give a part code for one on this model of storage heater.
And besides, I don't want to go buying and replacing a part if I don't know that that's where the problem is. I've taken a pic inside, nothing seemed visibly and obviously wrong.
I'm looking for direction on how to diagnose and where to go for relevant parts.
Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_20220110_095404_408.jpg
    IMG_20220110_095404_408.jpg
    258.8 KB · Views: 317
Sponsored Links
Getting too hot to touch apparently.
Have you actually confirmed the temperature of the thing?
Older storage heaters do get very hot by design, and someone's perception of 'too hot' may not be accurate.

Correct operation is for the output control (left knob) to be set to minimum, and the input control (right knob) set to an appropriate level based on what heat is required for the next day.
It then heats up overnight. If an extra boost of heat is required in the day, the left output control can be adjusted to release more heat. However that must always be set to minimum at the end of the day.

If the input control (right knob) is turned down to minimum, and then it's left to heat up overnight, it should be cooler than when that's set to maximum.
If it's just as hot and remains hot for the same amount of time, then the thermostat assembly requires replacement (which is what's shown in the picture).

The only other components are the heating elements and a big stack of bricks.