Crimping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all I’m a heating engineer and I want to do more crimping for ease of wiring etc. Off boilers it’s is 3 core in white sleeping not grey and is about the same diameter off pumps and zone valves.
My question is what width is each individual wire and should I use the blue or red pin type crimp

Thanks in advance sorry if it’s a daft question

Sponsored Links
Red is for 0.5mm² up to 1.5mm² wire.

Wires are measured by cross-sectional area.

The flex in question if loose is likely to be 1 square millimeter,
That fitted to pumps and valves, perhaps 0.75mm².

The squash flat blue and red crimps are not very good or suitable, but are what is used.

Why do you want to do this?
Aren't all the cables in a wiring centre with screw terminals and cable restraints?

Sponsored Links
I was looking at the pin crimps, reason being, wiring loose threads of wire into many blocks on air pumps and boilers are difficult as the space is so small.

On many heat pumps from Europe the wires come with a pin type crimp on the wire. Makes it a lot easier to wire. That’s the only reason

Is there any pitfalls with using them in these circumstances

I was looking at the pin crimps, reason being, wiring loose threads of wire into many blocks on air pumps and boilers are difficult as the space is so small.
Correctly sized ferrules and a proper crimper would be better.

Is there any pitfalls with using them in these circumstances
The squash flat ones are rubbish.