Cutting 12mm Laminate floor? Which is the best cutter?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am considering installing 12mm laminate flooring in 3 bedrooms, and wondered what the best way to cut the laminate would be.

I have never done it before, but after a nightmare trying to find a decent plumber on another recent job, I am looking at installing the laminate myself.

I have just looked at a few cutters which have varying reviews, but as I am looking at 12mm, I wondered what you guys thought was the best way of cutting it?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
How deep is it? I would go for a sliding compound mitre saw you can get one from around 70 quid upwards.

How deep?

The laminate we are looking at is 12mm, we thought 12mm would feel more sturdy/solid.

Thanks.

RJM2K means how wide is each board - this dictates whether you need a mitre or sliding mitre saw

Sponsored Links
Yes width. You could just use a circular saw but less accurate though that doesn't matter too much sas you cover the ends with beading. You will also no doubt need to make some planks more narrow so a handheld would be better for that. Screwfix had an offer on evolution not long back where you bought the mitre and got a circular free.

You might also need to need to use a jigsaw to cut any intricate shapes. The blades I use for cutting laminate are the Bosch T101AO blades.

Thanks guys.

The company sent me a sample, and it measures 5.5" across.

I was concerned about chipping the laminate when cutting, but last night I had a thought, that it does not matter that much, because where the cuts will be made will be hidden behind skirting boards anyway.

I could even use one of those oscillating Bosch cutters maybe, if I was careful, as it is only being cut at the start and end of the room, isn't it.