damp/wet marks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Recently bought/moved into a old terrace house and 4 months in i'd started to notice wet marks dotted around a wall.

These wet marks start near window corner and move along the wall (never rising from the floor) this is also the same near the front door and cover of the room.

I've attached a picture of the corner and where i've sanded back the wet marks around the window.

I've tried sanding back, and using ronseal damp proof paint which covered the marks great, but the wet marks appear again below/above where i painted.

The bricks outside where the damp marks are look well weathered, and a few flaking (apologies.. i'm a diy amateur)

Any advice??

Sponsored Links
Pictures of the other sides of the walls will be more helpful. Not too close and fairly wide angles so we can see what else is going on.

Pictures of the other sides of the walls will be more helpful. Not too close and fairly wide angles so we can see what else is going on.

Ahhh now that would make sense (told you i was an amateur)

When i get home from work i'll take a few more pics :)

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Is the interior floor solid or suspended?
Have you examined and probed the skirting boards?

Look inside the external meter box, and the internal elec. outlet, for damp signs.

The elevation has been re-pointed in the past - re-pointing requires a rake out of 20mm to 22mm deep and a soft mix of mortar. Check your pointing.

The stone cill appears to be central to any damp penetration - does it have a clear throating, and is the PVC frame well silicone sealed?

There's the possibilty that you have stand alone condensation, although penetrating damp will often attract/create condensation issues.

Is the interior floor solid or suspended?
Have you examined and probed the skirting boards?

Look inside the external meter box, and the internal elec. outlet, for damp signs.