1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Default font size

Discussion in 'Forum Information' started by Captain Nemesis, 22 May 2021.

  1. Captain Nemesis

    Captain Nemesis

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    1,128
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is it?

    I just pasted in something which came in a large font, so I wanted to "normalise" it.

    The following are Size 3, default, Size4.


    The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.
    The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.
    The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.


    Default is neither 3 nor 4.

    Doesnt matter much, but it is odd and annoying.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. opps

    opps

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    4,733
    Thanks Received:
    751
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could you not select "paste as plain text"?

    My post seems to be size 4.

    On the far right of the box that you type in, the furthest right icon will allow you to remove any BB coding if you want to. Delete the opening and closing <xxxxxxx> statements.
     
  4. Captain Nemesis

    Captain Nemesis

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    1,128
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not an option in my browser - I can do Edit->Paste, Ctrl-V, or mouse right-click then paste.

    So you dont get the same thing I do? How do those 3 lines from my post appear?

    Do they look like this to you? [Relatively, I mean - screenshots get enlarged, but the point is that for me default and Size 4 are not the same]

    upload_2021-5-22_16-27-41.png

    Yup - as I said its no big deal. The text I pasted ended up Size 6, bold, and yes I could remove the tags (clicking the remove formatting button is quicker than switching to editing the BBcode), but for some reason I did the attributes individually, which is when I noticed that 3≠default≠4....
     

    Attached Files:

  5. opps

    opps

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    4,733
    Thanks Received:
    751
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looking through the CSS

    Your first example seems to be 12px

    The second (default) is 11pt, which on my laptop equates to 14.6667px

    The third is 15px.


    However, when I look at my post, when I wrote "my post seems to be size 4" I typed that using text size 4. From that point to the end of my post, the text is 15px, prior to that it was 12pt (14.6667px).

    In short as soon as you select a text size, you are no longer using the default size because you go from pt to px (unless you select the text and use the remove formatting button)


    With regards to "paste as plain text" what browser are you using? I am using chrome on W10. I normally use the right click and select the option. If I wanted to, I could use Ctrl-Shift-V . Have you tried that?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Captain Nemesis

    Captain Nemesis

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    1,128
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK - that explains it. And Im sure that that behaviour made sense to someone when they decided to have it work like that. Im sure that they sat at their desk and implemented something logical, the benefits of which to users they could convincingly articulate.


    Firefox, of course.

    Google have already done more than enough to **** up my life.



    I hadnt, no, but yeah - that works.
     
  7. opps

    opps

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2006
    Messages:
    4,733
    Thanks Received:
    751
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    To be fair, DIYNOT didn't build the forum software. It is powered by Xenforo. I used my "built with" extension in Chrome to discover that.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XenForo

    And, no, I am not a Google fan per se. I use Firefox to maintain the websites that I build/host, Opera for Piratebay searches because of the free inbuilt VPN. Vivaldi for the "naughty" sites, and Edge for the sites that I don't want google to see me visiting. I use even more browsers on my phone.
     
  8. Captain Nemesis

    Captain Nemesis

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    1,128
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page