degree

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Perhaps some people here could give me advice, My son is 19. Doing his A levels this year, and guess what, he wants to become an electrician. (Possibly with NIE) I would like him to go to third level and get a degree, but as he has found out, can get an apprenticeship fairly easily.

Has anybody 'been here' before? I am looking at BR and FWL in particular.

Sponsored Links
One piece of advice - DO THE DEGREE,

Almost 40 years ago now, I was in exactly the same situation. Under severe duress, I completed an honours degree in electrical/electronic engineering.
Finished that and qualified (via apprenticeship - completely separate to degree) as an industrial electrician. Thinking what a waste the degree had been. I set up my own business, which did very well and still exists today.

25 years later, at 46 I got fed up of all this and sold the business. I applied for a job as an electrical engineer with the ESB for whom I have worked for the past 12 years. I can honestly saw I love driving to work every day.

I was 46 before I made use of my degree, if it had been left up to me alone when i was admittedly 'young and foolish' I would not be in the position that i am today. 4 years is not a huge amount of time to spend, mapping the rest of your life.

if it helps i served an apprecnticeship too. I did not have any degree, and i think for an electrciain's aprentice it is a waste of time, why, because unless he is intending on getting a pg degree (yes that is pg as in pg the Tea) he is wasting his time. why, when you start an aprenticeship, the money is not very good, and you start by making the tea, i am not joking, being an aprenyice you get to do the great things like making tea, sweeping up, marking cables holding this fetching that.

do not get me wrong i enjoyed doing it, but with a degree, will your son be able to cope with being "servant" (can't think of right word) a degree later on YES, now NO.