College courses, career advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Screenshot_2017-06-30-21-14-25.png

Those of you who have been here a while will know me and that I know my electrical stuff pretty well, though I havent kept up with the requirements of the latest amendment of the 17th (apart from metal CUs). Its something I would love to do for a living in some capacity.

I know the ideal way into the industry is an apprenticeship. I can't afford that. I need to keep my current job for the money.

If I were to start on a college course around my current job could I start with electrotechnical level 2? Or do I need to do a level 1 course? On the website above (doncaster college) the entry requirements for the level 2 is just gcses. 2.5 days over 32 weeks.

I've been toying with this for a few years now. I'm fairly sure I've done a post like this before. I'm not getting any younger and my current job isn't getting any better - when you spend your working day dreaming up imaginitive ways to resign with maximum effect, you know you're in the wrong job. My dad retired today from an office job that he's never liked (he used to drive trains under BR but moved into the offices shortly after privatisation just before driver salaries rocketed). I have been scouring job websites but no jobs on there that I'm qualified in, nor have salaries close to what I'm on now. (I explored train driving but it's impossible to get into, 400 applicants per post, strict psychometric testing)

If I do level 2 and 3, where can I go from there? I know a friend of a friend who has just started his own business as a spark after working for a local business, I could ask him to take me on, he knows I know my stuff.

Advice appreciated.

Sponsored Links
I know a friend of a friend who has just started his own business as a spark after working for a local business, I could ask him to take me on, he knows I know my stuff.