Diagnosing a blocked cold feed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

This is my first post and I'm very new to the world of plumbing.

I have an open vented system and I appear to have air gurgling in the pipes. I can only hear it when the hot water is switched on, it's all nice and quite when only the heating is running (not sure why this would be?). There is an automatic air vent fitted just past where the hot flow goes into the water tank coil, but it looks all clogged up and I doubt it's working.

From reading posts here I gather that one cause of air in the system can be a partially blocked cold feed, so I'm trying to work out if that's the problem. I held a jar of water up to the vent pipe over the F&E tank, and when the pump came on it took in a little water from the jar, but then spat it straight back out again. I wasn't sure what to conclude from that?

I have also now got a magnet and am going to run it over the cold feed in the airing cupboard to see if I can feel a blockage.

But it occurs to me - I recently bled all the radiators successfully. If all the air got out of them, and they are nice and warm now, would that be evidence that the cold feed is working reasonably well? i.e. air goes out, new water comes in from the FE tank?

Very grateful for any input.

Sponsored Links
Tie the ballvalve up in (or shut the supply off to) the F&E cistern, draw some water off out of a drain off, and see if the level in the tank drops before doing anything else. Some systems do gurgle, but its also entirely possible the cold feed is fine but there's a total or partial blockage in the cylinder coil or pipework nearby.

Secondly if the air vent isn't working it wont be releasing anything as it was designed to do, so needs replacing either with the same or a manual vent. What's the inhibitor situation with your system, does it have any in it?

Thanks for the reply Hugh.