diagnostic please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
my back boiler light goes out, "baxi-bermuda 552" gc no. 4407750
I relight same using appropriate buttons, boiler fires up when I release
and will burn for varying ammounts of time.
Is this more likely to be the thermo-coupler £4.00 or a gas valve £120.00 plus vat and fitting costs.
My dillema is I have nowhere to install the so-called "modern globe warming type."
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :(
Thank you powell. I would now like to be able to ask my "rgp" why his work was that price. is work by rgps' not gauranteed?. As a retired male nurse I hate to think my profession worked in the same way.
Thanks again forn your most respecfull reply.
Would it be reasonable for me to ask him to at least replace the thermo-coupler as the present one is more than 15 years old?.
Thanks again powell

Sponsored Links
Do not play with your boiler!!!!

When was the last time it was serviced? Within the last year?

Call out a Gas Safe Engineer, this is not a DIY job, and no one on here will give you advice regarding tinkering with your boiler.

Ask friends or family to recommend someone.

Andy

I am not, repeat,not tinkering ,sir. I am asking so that I can work out the overall costs. ie electric alternative. etc. As to maintainance my boiler was over hauld by a registersd plumber a week ago. Same fault. £70.00
worth. I am therefore in a dilemma. Hence my question

It could be any one of a number of issues but as this is an open flued appliance and therefore more likely to be dangerous if not maintained or fited properly i strongly recomend you get an rgi who knows what they are doing.

As an aside 70 quid to service fire and backboiler seems a touch cheap.....read into that what you will

Sponsored Links
just to check, you say he was a registered gas installer, attended to the same fault, charged you £70 and the fault is still present?