Difference in gas bills between Band A and Band D boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am considering installing a non condensing gas combi in my home. The rating is band d and having spoken to the manufacturer it is 79% efficient. The Band A Condenser in their range is 89%. I was wondering what the financial difference in terms of gas bills would be say over a year? I have been told by a guy at work I'd save £20 a year with the band a I haven't a clue though??

I am a Gas Safe registered installer btw I understand that strictly we're not supposed to fit non condensers but there are plenty around and the way I see it is I can afford a Vaillant non condenser which it is or a band a Heatline or cheap as chips model!!

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
If the difference in efficiency is 10% then for every £100 of normal gas
bill you have you save £10. So £500 gas bill you save £50.

If there is nothing wrong with your existing boiler keep the boiler.

You must be a pretty hopeless RGI if you dont know the answers to those questions.

Might also explain why you are apparently not earning the £25 -£45k that an RGI would usually earn so that you can buy a good boiler!

The monthly payments on the Ferrari mean there won't be much left
for a quality boiler.

Well I have a Vaillant boiler but drive a Ford.

Got to get the priorities right.

Sponsored Links
The question was 'what would be the difference'.

If a boiler is 79% efficient band D;

And your bill is £1000pa

Buy an 89% Band A, your bill will reduce to about £875.

It's more than 10% difference because of the ratio of fuel wasted is greater.

If you add weather comp to your new boiler you can expect slightly improved savings.

NB: In order for your savings to be just £20 your gas bill would have to be around £180 a year. That would be good.

Is a boiler that boasts 89% efficiency band B?