Dimmible LED bulbs blowing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi looking to see if anyone has any ideas as to why three out of eight LED bulbs might have blown over the last 4ish weeks having only been installed in May of this year. I am a complete layman with these things so apologies in advance if things are not as clear as they should be.

The bulbs are fitted into our lounge with the set up consisting of 4 x wall lights - two bulbs fitted into each and 1 central pendant light with a 42w bayonet type fitting.

The lights are controlled from 1 x 3 gang dimmer switch - 1 for the central pendant light and the other two controls each controlling a two wall lights with two bulbs in each so four in total.

The bulbs are Aurora AU-DGU1040W (4watts) and the dimmer switch is a volex brushed stainless steel version. The dimmer modules are Crabtree 2 way (originally the lights were going to be 2 way but we knocked the idea on the head) DV21911. On the back of the modules have a Min load of 40W and a max of 250W.

Is there any stand out reason for the bulb issue or could it be as simple as a dodgy batch. The electrical wholesalers the sparks uses had no issue replacing the first two but now a third has gone I am starting to wonder.

Many thanks in advance for your assistance.

Sponsored Links
If I understand your description, you do not have enough load on the dimmer. They need at least 40watts of load to work properly so there may be an incompatability issue.

You may need a Lo-watt dimmer desigend to work with LED lamps
something like these.
http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_In...es~Dimmers_All/LEDlite_LED_Dimmers/index.html

BTW. Did you try any of the "faulty" lamps with a standard switch, rather than a dimmer?

Hi many thanks for the response.