Discussion regarding a Yale HSA6400 and custom CCTV / Alarm

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

First off, I am an electrical engineer and computer scientist by trade, (I can design / program a lot of the micro-controllers and electronics in alarm / CCTV systems)

I have an existing custom made CCTV / Alarm system with the following features:

1. Event recording and uploading to remote server
2. GSM alerts directly to my mobile
3. Tamper checks on CCTV cameras
4. UPS powered for a few hours

It basically alerts me when someone is close to the property or in it (I can script various actions depending on the zone / size of the event etc)

At first I was thinking of making a custom alarm system with my own siren, but I decided against it for now (I might do at a later time!)

In the mean time I wanted a cheap an cheerful DIY alarm to set up and compliment my CCTV system. All I need is a bunch of PIRs and magnetic sensors to sound a siren and alert my own system.

I was thinking of making the following additions to the Yale kit, and this is where I want the opinion of people in here!

1. Outside, I will place a dummy siren (probably the one that comes with the kit, painted white so it shows no logo, and funny enough looks like the more expensive SmartHome one which is the same but white)

2. The real siren will go in the attic, in a slot that has a thin layer with the outside - so if it sounds it will be heard pretty well. This way the intruder cant go around and smash all the sirens.

3. The control panel will also be in the attic, and I will operate the system remotely or go up to the attic and program it if needed.

4. When the control panel "calls out", it will be connected to my PSTN card in my attic server, which will route the call to all it can (SMS, Push Alert to my phone, E-Mail, GSM Call)