DIY Solar PV in theory

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Energy prices are going crazy so I've been looking at DIY Solar PV. It seems a bit of a no brainer.

You buy a grid tied kit. Fill out a G98 form and send to the DNO (if under 3.6Kw), I think DNO things get complicated after that. Get it installed (as per regs/etc) connect up to a spare way in your CU and you're away!

I'm not bothered about getting paid for anything I supply back to the grid. In the future if I wanted to I can connect a battery up. I have a flat roof available so less chance of falling off and killing myself.

What am I missing?

Just pulled a random add of the internet, not saying this is kit I would go for:

Plug-In Solar 3.52kW (3520W) DIY Solar Power Kit with Renusol Console+ Tubs (for Ground or Flat Roof) | Plug In Solar

Sponsored Links
I’ve no experience of solar on houses, but at a quick look, this kit looks like it’s for a feed-in... doesn’t look like you could use the electric, as you aren’t bothered by Selling it back.

think you need some form of inverter/batteries etc to be able to use the created power.

will watch this post, for more informed replies Than mine (n)

The Enphase Micro-Inverter
This Plug In Solar Kit is supplied with G98 certified Enphase IQ7 Micro-Inverters. The Micro-Inverters convert direct current (DC) produced by the solar panels into alternating current (AC) for use in your home
I’ve no experience of solar on houses, but at a quick look, this kit looks like it’s for a feed-in... doesn’t look like you could use the electric, as you aren’t bothered by Selling it back.

think you need some form of inverter/batteries etc to be able to use the created power.

will watch this post, for more informed replies Than mine (n)

Sponsored Links
What am I missing?
For the item linked to, you can't subsequently connect battery storage without buying a new inverter, which will be £1000+ on top of the battery costs.