DIY UPVC windows

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all.

I need new windows. Bottom line is I can't afford at an estimate £15k to get them done.

I'm pretty competent in DIY and am an engineer by trade so quite good with my hands.

So basically I've watched a few you tube tutorials and fancy having a go but from the experts is it worth me tackling the job? I totally get I'm probably looking at one frame a day.

Thoughts please guys.

Sponsored Links
You'll need to do it under a Building Control Notice, but it's all quite straight forward. The main question is what type of windows do you currently have. Make sure that you get internally glazed windows, and you won't need scaffolding - but I'm sure some here will disagree.

You'll need to do it under a Building Control Notice, but it's all quite straight forward. The main question is what type of windows do you currently have. Make sure that you get internally glazed windows, and you won't need scaffolding - but I'm sure some here will disagree.

That's the trouble with my current ones they're externally beaded (black rubber) and I'd guess 20 years old upvc. But i can see the screws in the frame so as long as i measure correctly and correct me If I'm being ignorant but bolt out bolt in with a 5mm expansion gap then silicone up?

I've never used an expansion gap, as that would allow the frame to flex and wobble, so I tend to fit into the opening without it being overly tight. If you've got solid brickwork behind the frame, the you can use and SDS drill to go straight through the frame into the brickwork, and then use a concrete frame screw with a torx head, but you need to work out the correct size drill bit to use, as these need to fit snug, but not too tight. Some people use frame fixing screws, but I find they can be hit or miss at times.