Do these hangars on this exhaust backbox look corroded enough to be a problem on the MOT ? Pics incl

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My car is due an mot within next 6 - 8 weeks , I am able to book it in from 2 weeks from now

I noticed tonight that the back box hangars look corroded but I'm no Mechanic , this is only my opinion from what I see.

Do you think the hangars on the back box look corroded and so you think this may be a concern for its upcoming MOT test ?

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20200901_212204.jpg
    IMG_20200901_212204.jpg
    258.5 KB · Views: 251
  • IMG_20200901_213146.jpg
    IMG_20200901_213146.jpg
    236.5 KB · Views: 240
Sponsored Links
The corrosion is not a problem but that hole in the silencer will be.
Hello Motto, how are you friend ? Good to see you

I didn't even notice that hole maybe because I took the photo in the dark.
Do the hangars not look corroded to you ? They look thinned out and crumbling imo

Is it a repair or replace job for backbox ? Thanks

Sponsored Links
As above, fill the hole with Gun Gum or whatever.
(Does that stuff still exist?)
John :)

Hello Burnerman , good to see you ! I hope you're well

I didn't even notice that hole maybe because I took the photo in the dark.
Do the hangars not look corroded to you ? They look thinned out and crumbling imo

Is it a repair or replace job for backbox ? Thanks

Corrosion is not a problem if they are sound. As John says, get a bit of Gun Gum into it.

Corrosion is not a problem if they are sound. As John says, get a bit of Gun Gum into it.

The hangars look thinner at the bottom, bit of rusty flaky metal come off if I scrape it with screwdriver.

I could probably get a replacement back box for £15, is it worth just replacing it do you think ?

For £15 you might Just as well fit a new one - a tin of Gun Gum will probably cost a fiver!

For £15 you might Just as well fit a new one - a tin of Gun Gum will probably cost a fiver!