does wood stains and dyes contain varnish type contents?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am really sorry, but I am a complete novice in this theme and I would really appreciate if someone would help a girl out :)

Basically, I would need to stain or dye (is it the same ting?) some english oak wall panelling, but I would really need it not to contain any varnish, because i would like to print on top, so i would need it still to take ink in after staining. However, after some research on internet, it appears that nowadays some stains and dyes do contain already varnish as well....to protect the wood more and to dry quicker etc. When I look at the stain pots, they have no ingredients listed on them whatsoever, so someone like me who has no experience or knowledge in those kind of things....i don't know how to find out if they do contain varnish or not....Maybe someone knows how to advise me in this question: how to find out if a wood stain or dye contains varnish? and/or Which wood stains or dyes do not contain varnish type contents (i think it's resin?)

At the moment I have got at home:
Colron Refined Wood Dye
Ronseal Hardwood furniture stain
Ronseal 5 year Woodstain
B&Q Colours Exterior Woodstain Satin

Are any of thos good for my purpose?

Thank you so much in advance :)

Niina

Sponsored Links
stains contain various kinds of protection, whether flexible resin, varnish, or (esp. fence stain) wax.

Wood dyes, such as Colron, don't. They are just colour in a solvent and are normally varnished, oiled or waxed after they have dried to add protection to the wood.

Thank you for your reply JohnD. I had a feeling that Colron might be the most suitable and was a bit doubtful about the others as it says "colour and protection" on them....However, I have found some stains that seem to me not to contain any sealers neither....at least by the look of it...http://www.auro.co.uk/auro-paint/auro-interior-wall-paint?page=shop.browse&category_id=15