Domestic Plumber Jobs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello :)

I am a plumber and have been working in a fixed place maintenance role for almost a decade. I am thinking about applying for a vacancy for a local company working in domestic properties.

For anyone who works as a domestic plumber, I hope this doesn't sound silly - but I'd like to ask what type of call outs you receive. What ones are most common so I know what to expect if I get the job. I suppose a lot of the common problems I have experienced will arise but being in domestic properties there will also be a lot of additional situations that I will need to prepare for and tool up on.

Thanks for any help and advice offered.

Lee.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for your reply.

One thing about leaks I have never used is a pipe freezing kit! I have read that the disposable ones (Rothenberger) are reliable. Would you recommend one for a burst pipe job where the stopcock(s) are inaccessible/dud?

Only if you can stop the flow - you can't use a freeze kit on moving water!

Sponsored Links
Thanks for your reply.

One thing about leaks I have never used is a pipe freezing kit! I have read that the disposable ones (Rothenberger) are reliable. Would you recommend one for a burst pipe job where the stopcock(s) are inaccessible/dud?

Don't tend to freeze hot/cold water as above post, I will go to external stop tap if I cannot isolate locally or at internal stop tap.
Pipe freezing useful on central heating, as draining down and filling up can be quite time consuming.

Haven't bothered with a freezing kit in donkey's years.

If I can't isolate/drain down then just cut in a service valve live.

Balls of steel me :LOL:

of course (what an idiot I am)! :oops:

Yes I see about heating pipes - I have drained down before and it can be time consuming and then the additional cost of inhibitor etc.