Domestic Rewire

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good evening everyone, first post!

I'm about to embark on getting my home rewired, I work in the construction industry so I have an outline idea of what I need to do (or what I need my electrician to do!) but do not directly deal with electrics or domestic properties and as such could do with some guidance.

My understanding is that if I'm going to get my home rewired first I will need to submit a Building Notice to my LABC (for around £200) to inform them of the proposed work. The work will be carried out and I will obtain an Electrical Installation Certificate from my electrician (completing Form 1, 3 and 4 if they are a member of NICEIC, if not then they also need to complete Form 2 and I need to arrange from someone from NICEIC to come out to inspect and test the work) and submit this to my LABC upon completion of the work.

What's confusing me is that I have also read that if the electrician is a member of a Competent Persons Scheme that he (or her) can self-certify their work and as such will not need submit a Building Notice. Obviously if that was true, I'd be quite happy to save £200 however I'd rather have the job done right!

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
What's confusing me is that I have also read that if the electrician is a member of a Competent Persons Scheme that he (or her) can self-certify their work and as such will not need submit a Building Notice. Obviously if that was true, I'd be quite happy to save £200
That's the way it works.
You will receive an Electrical Installation Certificate and Schedules of Inspection and Testing, followed by a Certificate of Compliance.

The rest of your question didn't make much sense apart from needlessly paying £200.

Documentation from my LABC seemed to suggest that I would need to submit a Building Notice regardless, but that sounds straight forward, thank you.

Sponsored Links