Door casing width, what size?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi everyone,

My partner has just been done over by builders she got in to do big works in her house, and now she’s out of money and has a home with children that is virtually unliveable. I’m trying to help all I can to make it better for now, but I’m an electrician and need some advice please.

Amongst many issues in the property from the substandard building work, the new door frames that have been fitted by the “builders” are the same width as the timber used to create the stud walls in which they fit. This means that now plasterboard has been put either side of the stud walls, the plasterboard sticks out beyond the edge of the casings by the plasterboard thickness each side, and there will be plaster added to the wall thickness after she can afford in the future to get plasterers in.

Is this normal and one is expected to buy thin strips of wood to tack to the frame edges to bring them out flush with where the skim coat will come out to? Or should the casings protrude a few mm beyond the plasterboard either side?

Thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
Door linings should be built to accommodate plasterboard and skim leaving all flush.
You could build out as you suggest but would be visable , if you can afford to loose a bit of door width you could add secondary lining to correct width which would be hidden by architrave .

Its not normal to have to do it because you would plan ahead to accommodate for Plasterboard + Skim but adding extra strips of wood to build out the casing is the solution. I had to do it during my current renovation because the bricks walls were a lot thicker and any door casing available, I had the benefit of being able to set one side at the correct depth meaning I only had to build out the opposite side though.