Door Hanging Advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm studying Engineering in my final year at Bournemouth University. I am re-designing the door lifter. I am hoping to design a door lifter that supports the door when lifted and holds it at the required height without you having to apply constant pressure to the lifter. The idea is to allow the user the use of both his hands and to carry out fixing and marking the hinges without a second person. The product will be aimed at light to very heavy doors and to be used by apprentices, DIYers and skilled carpenters fitting heavy doors.

I was hoping to gain any points or needs that you feel would benefit you whilst using the product, even if they are very simple and obvious i would really appreciate your feedback. For Example: Lifting the door at set increments, or allowing the door to be moved in and out of the frame whilst on the lifter.

Thank you very much for any information you can give,

Jack

Sponsored Links
Jack - first check-out the American and British Patent Office sites ... tons of ideas. Check-out www.trendmachinery.co.uk for their door holding solutions. Consider introducing: screw jack or ratcheted lever or hydraulics or pneumatics for lifting (remember many pro joiners/carpenters will already have air tools & compressors). Toggle clamps for holding.

Best of luck with your studies.

Thanks, i've looked into the patents available online and there are a few things i can take from them but most are very bulking, something that chippies wouldnt want to carry around. I'll definately try and incorporate some small hydraulics or pneumatics to take the load. Think this will be the strongest and most efficient.

Cheers for your response very much appreciated

design a pair of folding wedges and hope that no-one you show them to is a joiner.

Sponsored Links
i don't like it when the door wants to tip towards or away from me when trying to locate the hinges into the frame/casing.