1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Doorbell wiring query

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jay1111, 9 Jan 2019.

  1. Jay1111

    Jay1111

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Evening,

    My doorbell has finally given up the ghost and it starting to sound less like a doorbell and more like a dying animal.

    I have been looking up replacements however noted that most seem to be 8V - upon looking at my current chime, am I right in saying that the transformer must be supplying 6V to this?

    Also, there are four wires here, into terminals 0 to 3. Any replacements I see are two wire chimes.

    Can anyone shed any light on this for me and guide me in the right direction with this?

    Apologies if this is a ridiculous question!

    Cheers,

    Jason
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,618
    Thanks Received:
    1,746
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have looked for instructions in vain, however from memory the unit can either work with 4 D cells or a transformer, I would try using D cells so see if it is the chime or transformer. Disconnect one wire from transformer to ensure no back feed.
     
  4. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,426
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your terminal 1 looks like its just to join the two cables

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 9 Jan 2019
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,830
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,830
    Thanks Received:
    2,572
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think the unit the OP jas does not have the mercury switch. ( thanks for the credit )
     
  8. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,426
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, i deleted it as i thought it may confuse the op :) ,
     
  9. Jay1111

    Jay1111

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Folks, thanks for the replies!

    Done a bit more digging - you're right, the two wires going to the one terminal are just to connect the two and don't serve the chime itself. I'll just connect these two and then wire the other two into the new chime.

    Thanks again!
     
  10. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,426
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should find the Transformer and check the output which will be stamped on it, to make sure your new chime is compatible.
    Not many output 6 volt, 8 or 12 is more common
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page