Double oven pipework disaster

m0t

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Our oven went pop yesterday, element failed again and Mrs was sick of it and always wanted a double built under oven so I ordered her one for delivery this morning.

Pulled the old single oven out and discovered that there was pipework in the way.

I have a 22mm ch feed, return and gas pipe running accross the bottom of the cabinet right where the back of the oven needs to be. By the look of it they all need moving down the wall about 6". Not being an expert I'm assuming that this could be done by putting some elbows in before and after the oven so it clears it.

Realistically what should I look at paying in London to get this done?

Sponsored Links
You make a very good point!

On the right hand side of the oven unit the pipes are the required 550mm from the front of the cabinet but they move away from the wall by the left side by about 20mm. Top one is the return, middle is feed and bottom is gas.

Edit: should add that they move about 4cm closer to the wall in the second picture where they bend.

Attachments

• IMG_8751.JPG
    IMG_8751.JPG
    147.4 KB · Views: 364
  • IMG_8752.JPG
    IMG_8752.JPG
    169.3 KB · Views: 374
Can you change the oven for one that fits ?

depends on where you live in London but a guess say around £300+vat to move the pipes :idea:

Some of London's top gas men are on this site and could be local to you,Easy job thou.

• Thanks
Reactions: m0t
Sponsored Links
Ouch!

Just thinking this through - if I moved the plastic water pipes could I heat up those central heating bends and just push them into the wall (I.e. So they rotate)?

There is movement on the pipes So it looks like they would go closer to the wall. Have measured and wouldn't need to do anything with gas because it's below the oven.

Or I could just cut them and join back up in plastic.

If that is an electrical oven, single would have been on a 13 amp circuit