Dovetails - Trend CJD 300 Jig and De Walt DW615 Router

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I am a complete beginner and wanted to try to start woodworking by building a console table.

The table will have two drawers and a shelf about 4" from the floor.

I have two problems:

1. I just bought a DW615 and Trend CDJ dovetail jig. However, I think I underestimated how difficult these might be to use (received them yesterday and was kind of overwhelmed by the Trend manual). I was wondering whether you could give me some advice on how to set it up and get to dovetailing accurate joints (in simple terms)!!! Please!!!

2. I would like to notch out the inside corners of the table's legs so that the bottom shelf (18mm oak veneered mdf) can slot into them. I thought i would need to notch out a height of 18mm and depth of about 1".. Can someone please advise on the best way to do this? I thought maybe using a straight cutter on the router but given that the legs are costing about £15/metre length I wanted to see what advice you guys had.

Thanks a lot for all your help!!!

Sponsored Links
Hi Ziggy

What sort of console table are you building? By that I mean will it have individual legs, like this one:

image.php

or are you using solid end panels to form the uprights? Console tables come in all sorts of shapes, sizes and structures so it's impossible from what you've given to figure out what you are trying to achieve. If you'll let me know I (or someone else) can give a more concise answer to your question.