Downlighter city...

rlc

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning all,

My task has been to connect something like 40 downlighers in various rooms throughout a new build - during lunch the boss informed me that he is getting a number of plasterboard boxes made to sit over the cans of the downlighters for the following reasons:

1. to prevent vapour entering the loft space and rotting the timbers

2. so the loft insulation can be laid over them.

now I'm no scientist, but there seems a couple of issues to me:

1. vapour ? - is this not just hot air

2. More importantly the thermal issue to consider - natural dissipation of the heat via the metal can is going to be considerably reduced and net effect will probably mean TTF of the lamps will be significantly reduced. The can of these lights is no totally sealed though they maintain 30 &60 min fire protection - there are a number of smalll'ish "10mm" holes in the top of the can. The downlighters are:

http://www.screwfix.com/search.do;j...FFY?_dyncharset=UTF-8&fh_search=25727&x=0&y=0

I was of the understanding that it is acceptable to cut-back?

Is there a regulation that clarifys the installation of downlighters and issues regarding coverings etc.

Is he right in his approach/solution?

Having seen this evolve I now agree downlighters aren't the way forward...

Thanks

Sponsored Links
The installation will depend upon the design of the lights. Different manufacturers state different requirements, for example how far away insulation must be etc., To be honest though I've never installed any with the intumescent material and metal can.

The manufacturer is responsible for providing a safe product. What do the manufacturers instructions say?