Drilling deep holes in brickwork

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone know of any product that will drill a 20-30mm diameter hole on a brick wall roughly 800mm deep? I've drilled with ease a hole with a 1000mm drill bit but the hole is too small for the cables I need to pull through.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
thanks v much 3g it should be big enough i'll give it a go. the hole is for a hdmi cable and the end plug is causing the problem

thanks

Welcome to my world, I'm an AV Engineer by trade, so constantly having that problem !! We have had a few jobs before, were we have ended up using CAT5 baluns because we couldn't get the HDMI to fit.

I know it goes without saying but since I've seen contractors using SDS bits without an SDS drill before, make sure you use an SDS drill. :)

Sponsored Links
Thanks 3g, having done this before yourself do you think that 22mm drill bit you linked to would be sufficient for a hdmi cable before I purchase it?

Cheers

To be honest they all vary, I'm 99% sure I've managed to pull a connector though before, it can be a bit of a tight fit, you should be able to wiggle the drill around abit to widen out the hole slightly.

I've heard people have had successes in the past with chopping a HDMI cable in half and then re-soldering + heatshrinking it back together again, I've never personally had to do it, but it's something to think about !!

wow the soldering idea is a great one if the hole in not big enough and all else fails. Thanks for the advice 3g i'll buy the bit tomorrow and let you know how I get on!
I started this job thinking it would be literally a 5 minute job that was 2 months ago- Ihate cables!!!!!

Cheers

Haha, you wouldn't believe the amount of places I get called out to and hear exactly that, can be a nightmare !