drilling into plasterboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to mount a bracket to my kitchen wall. The wall is plasterboard, how should I go about it? I have never done this before but will be able to do it with a bit of direction.

Sponsored Links
I recommend carefully pushing an ice pick into the wall at your candidate location as a probe to see what is behind it. You may need to relocate the hole and caulk the pick hole.

good point. was thinking of buying a tool to find electrical wires. Can advise on wall plugs and how to match drill bit size to screw?

Sponsored Links
That's an idea and a half mate. Cheers mate that will be easily done I believe

good point. was thinking of buying a tool to find electrical wires. Can advise on wall plugs and how to match drill bit size to screw?
There is a clearance hole and pilot hole size.
A #6 machine screw in the US has a max diameter calculated by something like
[6 x 0.013"] + 0.06"
but if you publish some screw numbers and max diameters it can be checked. Machinery's Handbook has tables of this sort.

I think this will be easy enough. I will report back if I have any problems. Thanks for all the help.

I recommend carefully pushing an ice pick into the wall at your candidate location as a probe to see what is behind it. You may need to relocate the hole and caulk the pick hole.
Great advice, when you push the pick thru the wall and get an electric shock you will have traced the wiring. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Great advice, when you push the pick thru the wall and get an electric shock you will have traced the wiring. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
I assume the person probing is not grounded and the cable jacket resists mild probing. Sharp things and abrasive surfaces are reasonably foreseeable by the cable makers.