Dry Verge OK to be fitted over existing render/undercloak?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I know this topic is done to death! BUT, I have read many posts on the Dry Verge topic and render / undercloak, and haven't found a definitive answer. Also i am an amateur and not doing this myself.

I am looking at a dry verge system fitted in replacement to crumbling render and undercloak.

I have read on some sites (and here too), that for the job to be done 'right' the render and undercloak must be removed, a batten placed and the dry verge mounted.

I have contacted a well regarded roofing firm (Belfast area) and they have advised that 'their' dry verge method does NOT remove old render and undercloak but to box it in, and because their dry verge will be flush up to the existing render it will not result in the existing render crumbling further and falling off into the dry verge box section. The quote is £360 for one edge of roof, a pitched roof porch , and 3 dormers. I don't mind paying more if there is a better way that it should be done, although i don't know yet who else locally would do it better/ differently.

Is this just a short cut, or are there scenarios where this flush fitting over the existing render is actually perfectly fine? I know there are different dry verge products, so are some intended to be done this way and others must have the old render removed?

The guy didn't lie about how they would do it, he was simply matter of fact that this way was fine, and would work well. Stating that if the render were to be all removed before, it would involve the edge tiles being removed and replaced, and it would add unnecessary cost.

Sponsored Links
Well , the dry verge has not been decided upon by me yet, and any pictures from the company are of work completed. I attach some of those. I mean it 'looks' ok, but my question was is it right to just put the verge on over the cracked render and undercloak?
88974651_2736859489882798_8512938511421145088_o.jpg