Earthing + Load Side Isolator/ DNO's or REC's responsibility

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
First post in the forum. I'm not an electrician. Just trying to establish some facts so I can go about making the right inquiries to the right people/company.

1 - Earthing: I have MET connected to the armoured sheath of the supply cable via some multi strand metal wire with a warning label attached to it. As I understand from several threads in the forum, this is not the ideal earthing method. Please could anyone advise what is the preferred way + who is responsible for making this upgrade? DNO tells me that PME is available, but they won't do the upgrade & diverted me back to REC.

2 - Load side Isolator: I'm considering having one fitted to make future electrical installations (rewiring etc) less inconvenient, without having the supply de-energised by DNO/REC. Before anyone asks, NO I'm not doing a DIY rewiring. Can anyone advise if DNO or REC is responsible for fitting an isolator? Or is it a matter of an added value service that they may choose to give?
I'd also appreciate comments on whether having an isolator is a good idea or that there are certain setbacks that I am unaware of?

BTW; I spent many hours on the phone trying only to establish who the DNO for the area I live in is. I found REC's and DNO's most unhelpful. Hence I'm sending this mssg to the forum for some impartial expert opinion.

Sorry for the long message.

Sponsored Links
1 - Earthing: I have MET connected to the armoured sheath of the supply cable via some multi strand metal wire with a warning label attached to it. As I understand from several threads in the forum, this is not the ideal earthing method. Please could anyone advise what is the preferred way + who is responsible for making this upgrade? DNO tells me that PME is available, but they won't do the upgrade & diverted me back to REC.
1: you have TNS. TT is the least prefered. where you have read TNS is not ideal, i have no idea