Electric Cooker replacement considerations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Old cooker tripped up the RCD yesterday evening while using the oven and since turning it back on it looks like the oven function has stopped working entirely - as in, light still comes on, fan turns on, but no heat. I imagine the heating element has gone bust. The hob function is still fine, digital displays etc all working, just the oven that is gone.

Oh well, instead of trying to get this fixed I thought I'd treat us to a new cooker. This one must be at least 15 years old at this point (came with the house).

I'm looking for something fairly standard, I see modern ones are 9-11kW (ish). I believe my existing 32 Amp setup is fine and does not need updating. So the plan is to grab some 6mm cable and just do it myself!

NOW, I'm no electrician! I have done basic things like wiring double sockets, connecting lights, fixing a cut through hedge trimmer cable... etc. I obviously youtubed my way into a plan, and I now have a few questions regarding my existing setup vs what I see online - attached you can see my existing cable/terminal plate.

I decided to have a poke around first, make sure I had a plan for the new cooker. I am quite confused by that 3rd earth that I am holding in picture #3, it was connected to the terminal but the other end was just poking out! I am now concerned about plugging everything back in - what am I seeing here?

Attachments

• IMG_4982.jpg
    IMG_4982.jpg
    238.5 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_4983.jpg
    IMG_4983.jpg
    178.9 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_4986.jpg
    IMG_4986.jpg
    221.2 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_4988.jpg
    IMG_4988.jpg
    246.4 KB · Views: 34
Sponsored Links
i cant quite see , but did that earth connect to the metal box in the wall ?
is there a screw socket in the metal box in the wall

you can see the screw on this back box - used to earth the box