Electrician Qualification Requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been reading a few topics on this site about people becoming electricians. I have a foundation degree in electrical and electronic engineering which covers all of the topics in the C&G 2330. What I cannot find out is what qualifications you need to legally be an electrician in the uk.

Obviously I need the 2382, 2391 and the part P but do I need the 2330 qualification?

Any help would be much appreciated and I am trying to make myself a career.

Sponsored Links
You do not need any qualifications to legally do a lot of electrical work. That would be minor stuff like adding sockets, lights, etc

HOWEVER

Most of the more involved work that you would be asked to do and anything in a kitchen, bathorrm or outside the house has to be notified to the local authority
see //www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:part_p:diy_electrical_work_and_the_law

To carry this out you would need to join one of the registration schemes. They are listed at the bottom of this page http://www.competentperson.co.uk/

Each has slightly different entry qualifications. Go to their sites and you'll find out what you need to do.

Competence is a requirement for other things too - you will find it hard to get Public Liability or Professional Indemnity Insurance without the right tickets!

You do not need any qualifications (Part P is not a qualification) to be an Electrician. You need to be competant and be able to prove competance if something were to go wrong.
Qualifications will go some way to proving competance (but not always!!)

A greater proportion of experience is needed to make a success of this profession.

Sponsored Links
...you will find it hard to get Public Liability or Professional Indemnity Insurance without the right tickets!

Not at all. Any insurer will happily sell you the insurance.