Electricians

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have got to the point in my current career where I have realised it is not what I want to do for the next 40 years. I enjoy doing diy projects ever since I moved into my current house and electrics is one topic that actually really interests me, I can actually read about it and not get bored.

My problem is I currently work in healthcare and I work 3 12 hour shifts a week, at various locations so I sometimes stay overnight also. This makes it impossible to do the typical college classes which are always held on set nights during the week at times I cant make. Is there any way I can learn electrics and progress myself into becoming an electrician without having to commit to a set day per week? or even with home based learning? I came across a website called access training UK which says in the bio that they work around your personal commitments but I don't know how true this is?

Also what is the work like as an electrician, salary, job satisfaction etc? I'm thinking long term I would love to work for myself.

Sponsored Links
I suggest you approach your local college/train provider, as some do allow for flexibility and you maybe able to sit-in on other days to then one designated to you. I would also suggest you approach an electrician and get some hands on work experience with them.
DIY is a lot different than working full-time in a trade, you really need to know that you do enjoy it, before committing. There is a lot to it, theory and practical and some of it is not that simulating or exciting or financially rewarding!

I would agree collages or at least lecturers in the collage often arrangements are not official will help with shift work and can be quite flexible.