Becoming an Electrician in the UK

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Becoming a domestic Electrician in the UK

I am potentially thinking of a career change, currently I am a design engineer in the mechanical / electrical field, degree qualified, unfortunately work in this sector is drying up salaries are low and is mainly office / desk based……fine if you like that kind of thing, but I've just had enough of it and all the office politics. I am toying with the idea of starting afresh; and being self employed, I enjoy practical work and am interested in seeing whether this is a viable venture…. I’m mid 30’s….

I have done some basic googling and see a whole multitude of ‘required’ qualifications for fast track colleges and all seemed a little disjointed to what actually qualifications you would need to go out alone, I am aware that really you need to work alongside a time served electrician for a while to gain experience ……but was more interested in what actual qualifications are required to carry out domestic installations.

Thanks in advance…..

Sponsored Links
Hi, I'm no expert, but searching 'becoming an electrician' here in DIYNOT will give you loads of gen from the people you're asking. CG

The requirements are what the scheme operator ask for, they are not all the same, and since you already have some qualifications you would need to ask, although you can do non notifiable work without being a scheme member it's all too easy to find you need to do something which requires notifying, maybe when you start the job you don't see the need but then you find there is some bit you hadn't foreseen that needs a compliance certificate.

The LABC charges do vary, you could ask what they are in your area, but likely only way to ensure you don't spend over the top getting completion certificates is to become a scheme member.