Electrics or decorating, which order?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I want to buy some new ceiling roses, rocker switches and gang switches for installation, these particular 2 rooms, I want to strip wallpaper and repaint.

Which should be first electrics or decorating?
(looks like plaster work around one of the light switches needs re-doing.

from novice....

Sponsored Links
Always Electrics first. As you have found there is usually some repair work to do.

I'm by no means an expert, but I would say if you can do the electrics, but leave switches/ceiling light fittings loose for decorating around.

Sponsored Links
I'm by no means an expert, but I would say if you can do the electrics, but leave switches/ceiling light fittings loose for decorating around.

Good idea. I had an assement from a builder who layed my new wood floor, he said Electrics were ok, otherwise if not this will cost me a lot!!!! to re-lay floor

Will hang losely ready for decorating.

I had an assement from a builder who layed my new wood floor, he said Electrics were ok, .

He's a builder. Has he ANY electrical qualifications that means he can make that judgement?

Would you ask the postman if your gas pressure is correct?

I had an assement from a builder who layed my new wood floor, he said Electrics were ok, .

He's a builder. Has he ANY electrical qualifications that means he can make that judgement?

Would you ask the postman if your gas pressure is correct?

Yep, that's a mistake I made! But he had one of his bods look at it. He has a team of 10 no fool, but yeah certified Electrian with history should've made the assesment. But the builder is doing my new extension so I hope he took the extra care!

Hi, I want to buy some new ceiling roses, rocker switches and gang switches for installation, these particular 2 rooms, I want to strip wallpaper and repaint.

Which should be first electrics or decorating?
(looks like plaster work around one of the light switches needs re-doing.