email virus problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
just recently my norton has started scanning hundreds of out going mails from my lap top, mails I'm not sending. I've basic knowledge on these things so I've scanned my laptop for viruses (viri?) and found nothing, loaded up 'spy seeker' still nothing, trojan remover still nothing, and ran a 'stinger' program which found nothing as well, but there must be something there to be sending this spam and junk out.
So, how can I detect the poxy thing and clear it out? To enable me to work I've had to switch off o/g mail scanning. The stuff going out was not infected it usually failed being sent due to a defunct mail address of the recipient.
thanking you in advance

Sponsored Links
i have no idea, but i will say, i have seen my pc send an email i never saw, and never typed, but it still sent it (may have been read recipt)

I have also received emails from "auto virus checkers" to say the email i sent has been destroyed as it contained a virus, thing is i never sent them an email at all, never heard of the recipriant

If would recommend downloading these removal tools

http://www3.ca.com/Files/CleaningUtilitiesAndTools/ClnNetsky.zip

http://www3.ca.com/Files/CleaningUtilitiesAndTools/ClnMydoom.zip

http://www3.ca.com/Files/CleaningUtilitiesAndTools/ClnBagle.zip

and run them one at a time. If you are running windows xp with sytem restore I would recommend switching it off before running the removal tools (you can do this through start-->programs--> accessories-->system tools -->system restore) It is also worth booting into safe mode (tap f8 whilst starting up) when scanning for viruses as only the bare minimum is loaded and virus scanners can clean files more easily.