EPC calculation algorithm. Anyone know what it is ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a landlord. I am very hands on with a Good working knowledge of engineering as well as trade skills (I am a qualified electrician and plasterer amongst other things), with a good science background and a couple of patents. But EPCs seem to be beyond me. Lol

I understand.how to calculate heat losses for buildings from first principles , what U values are , how they are related to but different to k values, how to calculate them, what thermal bridges are etc etc. None of this seems to help with understanding how an EPc is calculated as the energy assessors seem to “tick boxes” in their opaque software to come up with a number and letter result.

Eg my energy assessor - where I’ve been asking about a single glazed window I’m going to replace, and I wish ti chose one so as to improve my energy assessment number as much as possible - that windows are classified purely as “single blazed, double glazed, triple glazed, made after 2002”.

The heat loss of the window doesn’t matter. So - as the govt. wishes I have been incentivised to order a triple glazed sash window, which given the unit dimensions will perform slightly worse than a double glazed unit - but remember kids, the EPc isn’t about energy loss - it’s about regulatory control.

So my question is - what is the algorithm that is locked in the software ? Making design choices to
Minimise heat loss doesn’t necessarily result in better EpC rating (I have plenty more examples …)

Without understanding what an ePC is actually scoring - how can we build / refurbish to it ?

Does anyone know where there may be an online calculator that I can put numbers into like an assessor would do so even if I don’t know what is being calculated I can at least “pull the levers” and see how this effects things ?

There are obviously A lot of bent EPCs about (just look at blocks of flats from the 1920s for instance