Expanding Foam....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've never used this stuff before and it all went pretty well until clean-up. I had the smallest pea (can't have been a few mm across) on a tool and absent mindedly cleaned it in the sink...

Few hours later....

Honey, the sink appears to be blocked......

Had to dismantle the entire pipework under the sink to remove the huge blob of foam which filled up the pipes.

That stuff is evil, Steve McQueen would tremble in his boots fighting monsters made out of this.

Sponsored Links
Also wear gloves, it's absolutely horrible stuff to get on your bare skin.

Wotan

Sponsored Links
Try one of the new ones, you can bend the nozzle back and fix to a peg and re-use at a later time/date.

Try one of the new ones, you can bend the nozzle back and fix to a peg and re-use at a later time/date.
I have a can in the garage with the nozzle cleaned and bent back its been there since early spring how long does it stay useable?

Top TIP dont bother with the cans and straws....Buy a proper foam gun... Only 15notes, uses half as much foam, 50 times more contollable and the foam seems to be stronger/plyable

Top TIP dont bother with the cans and straws....Buy a proper foam gun... Only 15notes, uses half as much foam, 50 times more contollable and the foam seems to be stronger/plyable

100x agree. The price has started coming down on those straw cans, but the control is just amazing with the guns versus the cans. It's huge. But you have to get one with a dial on it. Mine was free with the cans, or about £10-15.

As for it getting down the drain, open the u-bend first and have a look for it. A real good look with a torch.

I do A LOT of at home chemistry using things that university staff have to get special paperwork for. I also pour acetone rinses down there quite regularly and have never noticed a problem.

Acetone works great on PVC for cleaning it up. It will get PVC frames looking new with a quick wipe.