Extension/ Construction checklist

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am very new to the world of construction. Currently pricing up a single side extension and a double rear extension.

From experience can anyone let me know what to look out for, any advice would be helpful. I am also looking for some guidance on what to look out for or check when the works commence I.e walking around with a spirite level ensuring walls are stroght...

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Yes, they will but I don't want to put faith in them. I'd rather be in a position to check and question as much as possible

Sponsored Links
there are 2 major things to understand in the world of construction

1) foundation specification which can vary a great deal from quotation to reality

some architects will just do building regs with a standard 1 metre dig shown on the drawing -and thats what builders will normally price for.

Whilst its impossible to know whats under the ground, its possible to get an idea, firstly check for any trees or hedges within say 15 metres and secondly try and find out what your soil type is: if its shrinkable clay then you will likely need deeper foundations esp if trees or hedges are in the zone of influence

2) "contract variations" often called "extras

some builders will quote for everything pretty much and include generous contingencies where there are unknowns, others will provide a basic quote and will charge lots of extras throughout the job.

Construction is one of those things where the finished job wont be exactly as quoted -and you need to understand that now so you are forearmed

If you are "walking around with a spirit level" then you will need to have a detailed specification stating what level :rolleyes: of accuracy and tolerances you are both agreeing to under contract.

Don't forget to cube test the mortar if you want to be really on the ball.

I am also looking for some guidance on what to look out for or check when the works commence