1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

External Garage / Workshop Electrics.

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Carl1973, 14 Apr 2015.

  1. Carl1973

    Carl1973

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have to run a power cable from my house to garage, the distance is approximately 12 M.

    It would be a pain to bury the cable due to the distance also being concreted. I am aware that over that distance it should be 3.5m high and supported on a catenary wire but it is not practical due to the height of the garage..

    Are there any other solutions?

    I would also like to run a further power from the garage to a workshop further down my garden, this can be buried easily enough but any suggestions on how to link the power would be appreciated so I am aware of what it entails.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,565
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you start.

    What will be the total maximum demand (in amps) for the garage plus workshop?

    No point doing anything until that is established. From that information you will need to calculate the size of cable that you need.
     
  4. Carl1973

    Carl1973

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Garage will be two strip lights and just a single double socket to be used for the odd powertool and possible welder...

    Workshop will be set up with similar lighting. and 3 double sockets for a table saw, chop saw, router etc....

    The garage electrics would not really be in use whilst in the workshop and vice versa..

    I am also rubbish at multi-tasking so short of a battery being on charge and 1 power tool running that would be about the maximum load but I am not sure what each item would draw..
     
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,627
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Solar power, wind turbine, hydro etc..
    So in short if you do not have a solid structure to fit to, such as a wall (not a fence) they are about your only options
     
  6. Carl1973

    Carl1973

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I bite the bullet and channel out the concrete to run it sub-surface....

    would it be practical to run it from a 45A RCD in the house to a Garage Consumer Unit in the Garage and out of that to a Garage Consumer Unit into Workshop..

    What size / type of cable would be recommended.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,565
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Carl1973

    Carl1973

    Joined:
    4 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got my my TLA's muddled, but I didn't post on here to be ridiculed...

    Work will be done by a part P qualified electrician, I was just doing my homework!

    I'll just go elsewhere..
     
  10. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,565
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair enough, but your electrician will have to sign a certificate that says that HE/SHE designed, installed and tested the installation.

    HE/SHE will also know that the CPD at the origin is there to protect the cable. So the size of the cable has to be determined before anyone thinks about if the device should be a 6A or a 45A whatever.

    For instance
    is a very broad brush indeed.
    Some just plug in to a 13A socket, some need a much larger dedicated supply. You would still need CPDs with C or D curve so that they can withstand the inrush current.

    There's lots, lots more to consider…

    So, get your sparky to determine what you need, you won't get the answers from an Internet forum.
     
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then you won't have been disappointed.


    In which case...


    When you get electricians to come and quote for the job they may well have ideas, as they can see the environment and we can't


    That will be the electrician's design and construction decision.


    My advice would be to ask the electricians to quote for taking meter tails into a switchfuse and supply the outbuildings from there, not from the house CU.


    The one chosen by the electrician who will be signing certificates to say that he did the design, that his work complied with the regulations etc.


    OK - here's some for you, if you want to learn more about what's involved:


    Going elsewhere won't alter the fact that the electrician you use has to be the one who does the design etc or he won't be able to certify the the work.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page