External wall crack above window

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, we are looking to buy a house and noticed a diagonal crack above the top floor window. Should we be concerned? Windows did not seem stiff, though we forgot to check the doors! Other things we noticed on the top floor: moving floorboards under carpet, wardrobe leaning forward in one room, and small crack in window pane corner. Any advice would be much appreciated.
1662287470671.png

Sponsored Links
I'm not an expert, but I can look out of the window of my Victorian terrace, and see 5 or 6 houses with cracks in exactly the same place.
I'm not saying its definitely not an issue, but around here it is very common at that weak point.
On your next viewing, have a look at other houses down the road, you may be reassured (...or not!) :)

Many thanks, will do that and also planning to get a survey done. Just worried because the previous house we wanted to buy turned out to have huge structural issues, which would have cost a fortune...

It’s pretty common in gable ends - personally I think it’s caused by wind loading on the block work.

it’s not a biggie, not a deal breaker.

Sponsored Links
Perhaps a survey would be better than uninsured forum posters?

Cracks in fresh render or fresh paint should be properly diagnosed.

There's an issue with the verge too. "What verge?" I hear you say. Exactly.

Thanks, Woody, of course, we will do a survey. Just trying to see if it's something obvious and it's best to stay away, as we have already spent on a survey for a property, which turned out to have major structural issues. And yes, what verge? Any advice would be much appreciated. There's so much to learn about houses!

Perhaps a survey would be better than uninsured forum posters?

Cracks in fresh render or fresh paint should be properly diagnosed.

There's an issue with the verge too. "What verge?" I hear you say. Exactly.
Verging on nothing