Feed and expansion loft radiator

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I'm not an expert, but am willing to learn and have a go and save money. I've previously installed several radiators on a combi.

I've just got a new house a started doing an extension, build it with my brother , our first attempt, so pretty chuffed.

The house, after extension will be a 6 bed house, with 3 bathroom(2 en suite). The boiler is a baxi solo 30 he. I have absolutely no idea if this is good. I've been googling around and it appears we have a feed and expansion system. Basically there is a couple of tanks in the loft, one big one (cold) and a smaller one (f and e , I believe). I also have another tank in one of the bedrooms which I believe stores hot water.

A week ago, I attached 2 new radiators to the existing system, one in the loft and the other 2nd floor(bedrooms). I didn't get any heat in the radiators so I bled all radiators. One of the radiators, on the 2nd floor, started letting cold water from the bleeding nut. The other radiator in the loft had no water at all in the radiator. This got me thinking and I thought it might have something to do with the f and e( gravity fed) system. So we took the loft radiator out of the equation. We then concentrated on the rad on the 2nd floor and after some googling, balanced the radiators which got us some heat.

This started to raise some questions.
1. How can we get the loft radiator working , or should it have just worked and it's best we try again. The level of the f and e and radiator is about the same.
2. Is our current boiler good.
3. Should we look at getting a different system.
A. Combi boiler
B. Sealed system kit
C. Leave existing and connect extended side to new combi.

Thanks for all your comments in advance. Go easy on me, my first post.

Sponsored Links
The level of the f and e and radiator is about the same.