Fernox TF1 and Weak Rads

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I've owned the house for two months. Worcester Bosch 40CDi installed four years ago, 13 rads, detached solid brick Victorian. The boiler was serviced by Help-Link a month ago.

Just over a week ago the rad in the kitchen started working intermittently. It would either turn on in the morning and work for the whole day or stay off. TRV set to 5.

The Help-link guy came over, banged the TRV with his wrench, scratched his head and said we needed a new TRV. He left without changing it as there was no time that day.

Since he left the rad in the kitchen has not worked at all. Also the rad in the laundry room and the rad in the upstairs bathroom became very weak - barely warm. The inlet pipes were hot however. They were working fine before. Other rads downstairs and upstairs have continued to work fine.

I have to admit - this is my first time being responsible for a central heating system and so I had no idea what a magnetic filter was. I did a bit of research about power flushes and sludge and came to the realization that I had a Fernox TF1 Total Filter to catch the sludge and protect the boiler.

Today I cleaned it. There was a lot of sludge in it! It wasn't cleaned when the boiler was serviced a month ago because I was there the whole time and it wasn't touched or mentioned.

Almost immediately the laundry room and upstairs bathroom rads heated back up! Also the kitchen rad has sprung to life although it is weak - warm at top and coldish at bottom. Inlet pipe is hot.

What conclusions can I draw from this? Why would a clogged mag filter cause problems for only three rads out of 13?

Sponsored Links
He had his wrench out hitting a TRV and left it not working? :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
He had his wrench out hitting a TRV and left it not working? :rolleyes: