Largest Rad Not Getting As Hot As Others

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Merry Xmas to all

can you please help me chaps, i'm a sparks by trade and have limited practical plumbing knowledge!

System is a heat only pressurised system.
S Plan (two x 2ports)
18l pressure vessel in airing cupboard
Vaillant 418.
Pump - Grundfoss Alpha 3 (model b)
system is a very clean system, rads are modern (8 years old) has always had inhibitor in the system and the magma clean is always quite clean.

4 bedrooms - (6 rads upstairs)
Upstairs = 4 rads with Drayton TRV4
1 towel rail (non TRV)
1 rad in on suite (non TRV)

downstairs 6 rads
4 rads with TRV4s
1 rad in downstairs (non TRV)
1 rad in hall where main stat is located
(non trv)

the issue is the living room rad is the largest in the house and is the only double panel with double connector.
it's just does not get hot enough.
the top is warm (not hot) and the bottom is luke warm, the flow pipe get hot but the return pipe is barely warm

it's not a sludge issue as of i turn all other rads off in the house and have 100% flow around this rad it gets perfectly hot all over in a uniform fashion.

the system is generally well balanced in respect that the returns upstairs are cracked right down 0.5- 1 turn open and the returns downstairs are 1-2 turns open, i try to leave the largest rad return fully open but it's still no good.

any ideas chaps on where i can go with this, as the living room is uncomfortably cold for my family.

thanks all in advance!

Sponsored Links
Your system isn't balanced as well as you think , as the rad in question heats fully when others are turned off.

What makes you think that sludge will move out of the way if you isolate the rad?.

Remove rad. Flush in back garden with hose.

If it continues, then move onto other issue's

• Thanks
Reactions: DP
Sponsored Links
Had a local heating engineer over yesterday and the balancing was fine.