1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Ferroli combination boiler PROBLEM! (MODENA 80 E)

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by ray316, 15 Nov 2010.

  1. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My combination boiler was working fine untill the other day.
    l turned the water off by the main stopcock to put isolating valves on the hot and cold copper pipes in the bathroom, when l had done this l turned the water back on by the stopcock in the kitchen but since then l have no hot water or c/heating.
    The boiler does not fire up and there is no pressure at all, what could it be.
     
  2. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need at least 0.7 bar pressure in the boiler for it to work, find your filling loop and repressurise the system.
     
  3. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any ideas what l should be looking for as l've never done this before...
     
  4. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Found a isolating valve and filled the system up to 2 bar then closed off. l turn the hot tap on and the boiler lit up and gave hot water but the c/heating does not work. On the boiler panel the c/heating light flashed intermitant, this said on a instuctions label on the panel that it was in standby and c/heating on when lit but after a few seconds the flashing c/heating light went off.
    What could be the problem.
    Also l had to shut off every radiator valve has they were slowly dripping, could this have anything to do with the boiler system not heating the radiators..... How can l stop the radiators valves dripping when l get the heating working.. Thanks for any replys to help me out...
     
  5. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone got any help and advice for me... Please
     
  6. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    10,245
    Thanks Received:
    2,468
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Set the pressure to 1 Bar MAXIMUM. At 2 bar you risk the safety valve opening when the rads get hot...not an easy fix on this boiler.

    If they are quality rad valves you will see an extra gland nut around the spindle. Tightening this nut will normally stop the leaks. However most valves are cheap carp and you will need to replace them.

    NEVER run the boiler with all the rad valves shut...it will overheat.

    As for the boiler not firing up it could be thermistors, broken temp control knob spindles, iffy timeclock etc etc. Of course the boiler may have been in short cyling mode...it will take a few minutes before refiring.
     
  7. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry OP been out all day.

    the boiler has a 5minute time delay when coming out of hot water mode before it fires again for heating,

    you can override it by turning the control to reset
     
  8. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tryed the reset button and nothing the c/h light just flashes and goes off. Are you chaps saying it takes 5 mins before the c/h kicks in and the c/h light stops on regardless of weather you use hot water or not.
    Also like gasguru says could a broken temp control knob spindle cause the problem...Would l be able to adjust the temp settings manually, if l can could you tell me if possible what to do.
    l have the pressure at 2 bar, so how can l bring it back down to 1 bar.
    The system was working ok till l turned the water off to change isolating valves :mad: .
     
  9. bellairaphon

    bellairaphon

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you have an internal timeclock on the front of the boiler

    Nath
     
  10. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if it won't reset and run then its likely the PCB has failed as a result of a power surge (just switching it can do it), the control knobs rarely give trouble on these as they only rotate a potentiometer on the PCB

    the known issues on these are

    Thermistors - get tarnished and misread - can be checked by swapping the leads around as the 2 are identical

    air pressure switch / venturi - the venturi blocks with white spots and in turn the APS fails to operate

    heat exchanger - scales up on the water side
     
  11. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a clock on the control panel, it has 2 switches for(auto), and over-ride.
     
  12. bellairaphon

    bellairaphon

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    link it out and see how you go.

    Nath
     
  13. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes the time clock can be bypassed by linking the 2 black wires together
     
  14. ray316

    ray316

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where are these two black wires chaps, and what will this test prove. Thanks for the replys anyway,
     
  15. bellairaphon

    bellairaphon

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    drop the front down remove the screws to reveal the pcb, then on the right there is another compartment with the wiring connections are. just remove the 2 black wires from the clock and put a link in the block. it will fire the boiler if the clock is faulty so you can control it on the boiler temp stat.

    Nath
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page