Fill my heating circuit for my Glow Worm Ultracom 24cxi Combi Boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I wish to fill my heating circuit for my Glow Worm Ultracom 24cxi Combi Boiler... I have switched off the boiler and opened both the grey taps through 90degrees and nothing happens.

I am no expert and my boiler is in this current state of the attached pictures.

Do anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_1554.JPG
    IMG_1554.JPG
    153.9 KB · Views: 1,108
  • IMG_1556.JPG
    IMG_1556.JPG
    189.9 KB · Views: 3,940
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
It looks like the filling loop is in the closed position.
Both valves should be in the open position, which will require a quarter turn so they are in-line with the braided flex.
I would have the boiler on, but the heating in the off position.

Why does the system need refilling?
There is cold water supply to the boiler and the flow/return valves are open?

Last edited:
Hi PrenticeBoyofDerry,

Thanks very much for the reply.

This is the problem... when I open the flow/return valves (grey taps)... nothing happens :(

The system needs refilling because I bled & removed three radiators to re-decorate. I have now put all radiators back on and when opening the first radiator, the pressure dropped from 1.3 bar to 0.7 bar. I then wanted to test if I could refill before doing the other radiators but didn't refill when opening the flow/return valves (grey taps)...

There is a cold water supply and I get hot water...

Does this help?

Thanks again

The flow and return valves are part of the central heating circuit, the two grey valves are part of the filling loop. So not the same thing.

Both grey taps need to be in the open position. I assume you have not touch any other valves than these two.

If you are getting hot water, that would suggest you have a water supply to the combi-boiler and the the boiler is pressurised enough for it to fire up.