Filling Large Gap Around Socket Back Box

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would appreciate advice on the best type of product to use to fill around a socket back box in my brick and plaster wall of my bedroom. There is a gap between the back of the box and the brick wall which is about 1cm deep x 40cm wide x 11cm high, as well as 40cm deep gaps at both sides and top and bottom. I also need to use something effective for skimming the top coat that won't crack. The wall will eventually be painted (not wallpapered). From my failed online research my shortlist is Sand & Cement Mortar or Bonding Plaster or Thistle One Coat Plaster but I've never used plaster before and am worried that it will need building up in 13mm amounts and may take forever the dry. I need something that dries as quickly as possible as I'm running out of time for the whole decorating job. I could also do with some advice on how to fill around the hole that the wiring comes through as I'd rather not fill up the hole and get stuff all over the cables unless that's acceptable or unavoidable.

I initially used pretty cheap Deep Gap Filler from Screwfix for the bottom void but it didn't dry after 2 days!. I had to (easily) scrape it all out.

In case anyone wonders the photo is a bit of an optical illusion as the box is almost flush to the wall; just slightly set back. The front plate will be a nice flush fit one. The job was a nightmare having had to deal with an awful attempt by a previous owner so i had to start with an oversized hole widthways and had to bash out the depth for a deeper box. I also had to raise the box so that the plugs clear the skirting. It's been an awful day so please don't bash me too much if you don't think it's a very good job!

Thanks.

backbox.jpeg

Sponsored Links
You can get small bags of quick set mortar in wickes, I have used it for similar jobs
Don't forget to fit a grommet where that cable meets the box