Finance Lease v Tax? (moved from general discussion)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I find myself bewildered by the different lease hire/contract hire/ HP options out there.

Quite simply my van is knackered, so I need another one! What is the best route?
I'm a sole trader not vat registered.
Initially I looked at contract hire but felt a bit nervous about the possible hefty bill when returning should I damage it or someone else damages it, car parks etc etc.
So I toddled of to VW commercial enquiring about a transporter and was talked out of contract hire and into Finance lease "the one with the balloon payment".
I do like to own my stuff so this appealed coupled with not having to pay should I/someone else dent it scratch it etc, however I do appreciate it would affect the residual value at the end of the lease.

This evening Im trying to weigh up the pros and cons and not really understanding the Capital Allowance side of it all. I am right that under contract hire I can claim the total monthly cost, whereas under finance lease I cannot, something do to with one being an asset and the other being a debt, I would also have to pay a deposit, would this deposit be claimable under Capital Allowance??

Any help would be nice or I'll be walking to work soon (n)

Sponsored Links
Is this in the wrong section?

+++++++++++++++
Moderator's note
General Discussion is perhaps not the place for anything serious.
+++++++++++++++

I was in the same position last year, after much number crunching and many phone calls I went for contract hire, handing the van back after 3 years, monthly payment covers servicing tyres road tax, breakdown, gave me a trade in on my old van, I probably could have got a better deal if I had sold my van privately but did not want the hassle, fully claimable against income tax, used Low cost Vans who are brokers who find the van and lease for you, so far so good